Project 0.3 Using fingers, wrist, elbow and shoulder

My key takeaway from this exercise is how pleasing the delicacy of the shading is when holding the pencil at the tip.

The physically of using my shoulder was interesting as I had never tried this before. My nervousness of drawing again leads me to often work on very small paper and just using my hands and fingers to draw in a very precise way so this is quite a change! I was happy to let the charcoal jump across the page to see what happens, noting that seeing can be both what happens on the page in the process of drawing and whether anything recognisable or appealing has happened by the end of the exercise.

In response to this exercise I research Rachel Evans and was interested to note how how recording her work as it being made using photos and video is becoming work in its own right.

 

Leave a Reply

