Project 1.2 Contour drawing

I chose my great, great grandmother’s colander as I like the whimsy of having such a ‘low’ family heirloom and muted grey is an interesting finish.

I had tried contour drawing on a drawing short course I did last year. I disliked it now as much as I did then. It seemed an unnatural and unsatisfying way to draw. I don’t understand how not lifting the pencil off the page adds anything to improving your observational skills. This feels like a constrained and false approach which left me frustrated.

The blind contour drawing I had also done before  and enjoyed it due to its freer, more expressive nature. Interesting I was more accurate in places then with the earlier contour drawing exercise.

Leave a Reply

