Acrylics experiment

Thanks to my subsidised art classes through the art club I run at work, I have the lucky chance to study acrylics for 8 weeks. I have chosen the photo below of a rose to work on.

 

To date I’ve enjoyed learning about using browns to block out where the shadows are which means the painting can progress more quickly when it comes to adding colour. I understand this technique of picking out where your darkest darks are can also translate to pencil drawings.

I was surprised to learn that you can apply acrylics using a wash like you do with watercolours to get a softer effect and build up colour. I have put one wash on so far.  It’s a little uneven as I was working rather tentatively.

 

Leave a Reply

