Sketchbook: Animals

Whilst in the US I stayed on a ranch with 4 horses and 2 dogs. I had some time to do some sketches of the horses which I hadn’t tried before. They are difficult but I tried to think about shapes and how the anatomy was the same or different from humans. I can see why the masters were so focused on anatomical studies as it makes such a difference in how you look at things. These are not ‘good’ sketches in that they are quite basic but I learnt a lot from them. The first is from a photo chosen as the horse was standing in a challenging position. These are A4 and graphite pencil.

After I returned I remembered my tutor wanted me to do more in large format so I took some A3 paper and did something I hadn’t done before which is try line in large format. For once the cat stayed still. I was nervous but enjoyed building up the layers of lines to achieve the shading. I really like the curve of his paw over his haunches. I’d like to try this again and then try adding some watercolour paint or just water so the lines bleed.

Leave a Reply

